≡ Menu

Year in Review – Our Top Winning Artists for 2013

Year in Review – Our Top Winning Artists for 2013 post image

Light Space & Time Online Art Gallery is pleased to announce its “Year in Review” edition has been compiled and is now posted.  This feature reviews and promotes the gallery’s 12 top winning artists for the 12 individual monthly art exhibitions held in 2013.

In 2013 we received more than 7,500+ entries for our monthly art competitions and the following artist’s and their art are what we considered to be the best 12 entries for each monthly theme.  The gallery received a broad array of media and artistic styles throughout the year.  We tried to showcase the various media received in our art exhibitions and we hope that you will take some time to view the various exhibitions that we have posted in our Archive Section.

Countryside – Dec. 2013 – Lisa Taylor “The Spaces Between”

Lisa Taylor is a native Tennessean. While attending Kings Point Academy, New York, she also obtained a Basic Art Certificate from Art Instruction Schools in Minnesota. After graduating college, she received an Active Duty Commission in the US Coast Guard.  Lisa has always enjoyed and had a passion for the arts, which inevitably led to her resignation from the Military in 2011.

Lisa states this about her artworks, “I have always enjoyed and had a passion for the arts.  To bring to life a subject through the use of simple instruments and the overwhelming feeling at the completion of a work of art is unexplainable. I create art because I take pleasure in it and I focus on conveying not only this passion, but also the mood and sentiment of the piece itself.  I want to create art that pulls the viewer in, allowing them to experience the beauty and emotions that are associated with the subject being represented.”

Lisa moved to San Francisco to pursue a Master’s Degree in Fine Art. Her website http://lataylor.fineartstudioonline.com

Open – November 2013 – Sallie-Anne Swift – “Disturbance”

Sallie-Anne Swift, originally from Australia, is an international award winning artist has been creating art ever since she was a young child. She moved to Long Beach, California in 2008 and now draws inspiration from her surrounding environment, the ocean, nature, the desert and its weather.

Sallie-Anne has a degree in Graphic Design and has worked, lectured and consulted as a graphic designer for many years but is now dedicated to painting full time. For many years the artist painted realism and used only oils, pastel and pencil but since moving to the United States she has discovered her love for abstract and now enjoys using acrylic and mixed media to create bold textures that are balanced with a sense of harmony and that often reflect her humorous side.

Her new work is 2 dimensional and is created using layers that start with canvas and are finished with painted acrylic panels. This unique idea has been 3 years in the making and finally the artist has been able to put it all together and create these new “Avant-Garde” pieces.

She has exhibited in shows and been represented with galleries in Australia and the USA. She has won distinctive International awards and been a juror for the online Bold Brush International Art Competition. She has exhibited her work in Miami, California and Australia and her paintings have been acquired by collectors in Saudi Arabia, Taiwan, New Jersey, Ohio and Australia. http://sallieswiftart.com

Animals – October 2013 – Adina Baker – “Showtime”

Adina Baker specializes in painting life-size hyper-realistic horse portraits. Each horse portrait is meticulously crafted under 5x magnification and her portraits take between 200 and 600 hours for her to complete.

Like most parents, Adina’s will never forget their daughter’s first word, but not because it was “mommy” or “daddy,” because it was “horse.” From the age of four, her first scribbles and drawings were of horses, until at age twelve, years of saved allowances, birthday checks, lawn mowing and babysitting purchased her first real one, Comanche, a fearless and much loved chestnut Quarter Horse.

As Adina grew as a rider, she also grew as an artist. An early influence that she still keeps close at hand is a copy of George Stubbs’, Anatomy of the Horse, purchased for a dollar at a garage sale when she was still in middle school. After a lifetime of riding, caring for and loving horses, Adina knows every inch of the horse, every muscle, tendon and bone. Even hair patterns reflect the individuality of each animal. Adina accepts a limited number of commissions each year. www.adinabaker.com  

Landscapes – Sep. 2013 – Helen Shulman – “See Escapes”

Helen Shulman has been a high school math teacher, a social worker and psychotherapist. Helen says that, “each position which I was involved in, I found informative and satisfying.  I was very fortunate to be able to attend the School of the Museum of Fine Arts in Boston to receive training in painting and drawing. My work is influenced by rural Ohio where I grew up in the midst of an Amish community, by the painters of the Hudson River School and by what I learned from the writings of Carl Jung, which provided the intellectual underpinnings for my therapy practice.”

Helen shows her work at Kobalt Gallery, Provincetown, MA; Pryor Fine Arts, Atlanta, GA; West Branch Gallery, Stowe, VT and Allyn Gallup Contemporary, Sarasota FL. Her work is also in many public and private collections across the United States and in Europe. http://helenshulman.com

Botanicals – Aug. 2013 – Barry Seidman – “Mango Calla Lilies”

Barry Seidman is among the top advertising photographers in the USA, as well as an award winning television commercial director. He was educated at Pratt Institute in New York and spent several years as an Ad agency art director. His work has contributed to numerous award-winning national as well as local advertising campaigns.

Barry has had many one-man fine arts shows in New York City and South Florida as well as contributing to numerous group shows. His work is held in many public and private collections. www.barryseidman.com/fineart 

CityScapes – July 2013 – Ruth-Anne Siegel – “Van Dam”

Ruth-Anne Siegel grew up on Long Island and she knew from a very young age that she wanted to be an artist. Her family encouraged her artistic interests by frequently visiting various art museums and art galleries in New York City. In pursuing her interest in art she attended the Rhode Island School of Design and received a BFA in graphic design.

Ruth-Anne spent her career working as a graphic designer in New York City and in San Francisco Bay area. She states, “Feeling a need to do artwork in a more expressive medium than graphic design, I began painting. Painting lets me explore rhythms and moods in an organic and expressive manner. My largest series, Memories of the Bridge, represents my reminiscences of driving to and from New York City over the 59th Street Bridge. The paintings are emotive and fluid. Light and atmosphere infuse my translations of a specific time and place”.

Her work resides in collections throughout the United States as well as internationally. http://www.siegelstudio.com

Figurative – Jun. 2013Rebecca Calhoun “Restaurant Confessions Two”

Born in Houston, Texas, Rebecca moved with her family to Southeast Asia at the age of three months. She grew up in Thailand, attended British and International boarding schools in Malaysia until returning to the U.S. to live and begin university studies. She attended Texas Woman’s University, with a full scholarship, and graduated with honors, receiving her Bachelor of Fine Arts in Painting and Drawing in 1982.

Since then she has worked primarily as a professional artist, teaching painting and drawing privately and at Texas Woman’s University and Wichita State University while doing graduate work. She currently resides in southern California. Her work is present in many local collections, as well as across the United States and Asia. www.studiocalhoun.com

SeaScapes – May 2013 – Peter Buchan – “A Moment Ago”

Using the unconventional approach of painting perpendicular to the canvas, established artist Peter Buchan harnesses the power of gravity to drip paint from chopsticks onto wood, creating simple images that evoke complex emotions.

Before he began using chopsticks to paint, Buchan honed his skills through a rigorous self-teaching discipline spanning more than 20 years. He studied the classics, explored different mediums, such as sculpture, mixed-media, and refined his pen and ink drawings–initially his predominant form of artistic expression. He was inspired by the great illustrators, including Howard Pyle, as well as by his father, an artist who encouraged him to pursue his innate talents.

About 10 years ago, he learned he could drip “the line” instead of drawing it. “It’s a system of gravity and imperfection,” he explains. “Trying to assert control over a medium with a high random tendency is both challenging and rewarding.”

Buchan has earned numerous awards, including a recent public arts competition that will feature his “Great Horned Owl” on city banners. As a full- time artist, he creates for solo/group exhibits, juried fine art shows and commissions, and is represented by the Beta Gallery in Long Beach. www.buchanart.net

Abstracts – April 2013 – Roxanne Fawcett – “Gold”

Roxanne Fawcett is a designer and artist living and working in the Seattle area. She is the owner of RGFawcett Design and co-owner of The Roving Gallery. Roxanne paints in a quasi-representational style, interpreting nature with intense color and a whimsical sense of humor.

Roxanne states this about her art, “I paint in acrylics in what would be called a representational style. Landscape, still life, animals, flowers … Nature in all its forms are my inspiration. My creative insight has taken form in many mediums — from doodling as a kid to stained glass, graphic design, residential and landscape architecture, ceramics and, of course, painting.” www.rgfawcettdesign.com

Nature – March 2013 – Lynne Davies – “Shaun”

Lynne Davies is a self-taught artist from Portsmouth, Hampshire UK. At the age of 5, after winning a packet of felt tip pens in an art competition and completing her first commissioned portrait at twelve years old, she knew she was put on this world to paint and from that point in time, she has never looked back. Lynne managed to achieve her dream of becoming professional in 2009.

Over the years her style has developed and improved and is inspired by nature, travel, (in particularly the colors and textures of Rome), wildlife, romance, classical art and music, she is a passionate painter of beautiful, expressive, large, (increasingly more abstract) images. Her favorite medium is Acrylic on canvas. She has exhibited extensively and was a finalist in the BBC Wildlife Artist of the Year Competition. www.lynnedavies.com

All Women – February 2013 – Laura Warburton – “Bouquet”

Laura is a Toronto based artist with an academic background in psychology and the human sciences. Whether her compositions are brushed, sprayed, carved, splattered, scraped or poured, the use of texture and abstraction provides an organic feel that encourages the viewer to linger and visually rove across the canvas.

Laura’s paintings are aptly termed” Loft Artwork”, as they are large in size, 4ft, abstract and provide a clean contemporary feel to any environment, including the raw feel of loft designed spaces. Her works are hanging in corporate and private collections throughout Canada, USA, UK and Europe. The 3rd season of HBO’s series HUNG also featured some of her work. www.loftartwork.com

All Photography – January 2013 – Ken Harvey – “Sisters”

Ken Harvey studied architecture in the early 1960s at Pratt Institute in New York City. He took courses in free-hand drawing, perspective, color theory, composition, and other training that was directly transferable to his photography.

Ken’s interest in photography grew more serious when he was in the US Army and stationed in Heidelberg, Germany. He was able to use the Army photo lab where learned to develop his own film, printed enlargements, and mounted the photos.

Ken says this about his art, “To me, the image and the feeling count, not the genre. I see wonderful images in a variety of places, so I would not like to be restricted to a single format or category. Over time, my photography has evolved and is still evolving as I develop new concepts and see things with a different eye.” http://www.kenharveyphoto.com

 

Comments on this entry are closed.

Top